“To conduct a highly competitive nationally recognized two-man tournament”


The 2016 Devlin will be held September 8-11, 2016 at Secession Golf Club in Beaufort, South Carolina.

We realize these dates conflict with the US Mid Amateur this year. If you QUALIFY for the US Mid Amateur you will receive a full refund of your entry provided you notify us in a timely manner.

The entry fee is $500 per person.  This will include:

  • Thursday (9/8) practice round
  • Three tournament rounds
  • Tournament dinner on Friday
  • Breakfast and/or lunch during tournament play

We have increased the field to 44 teams consisting of two divisions:

  • The Cannon Division will continue the format of previous years with teams of combined handicaps of 7.0 or less playing best ball for the first two days and combined score on the final day. The 30 teams will compete for a 72-hole total.
  • The Saber Division will include any senior teams (both players 55 or older) as well as teams of 7.1 or higher verifiable handicap.  Non-senior Saber teams will be limited to a differential of six shots between players and all Saber teams will play the course from a shorter perspective.  They will compete for a 54-hole best ball total. PLEASE NOTE: 2016 WILL BE THE LAST YEAR FOR THIS FORMAT FOR THE SABER DIVISION.

Beginning in 2017
, the following Saber Division changes will be enacted:

It will be aligned with the Mission Statement and will be a Senior only (50+) Division with a team combined handicap maximum of 7.0. The format will be best ball, alternate shot, combined score for a 72-hole total.

The tournament information will be available in early May.  Due to increased interest in the tournament we suggest returning your application as soon as possible.

If you are interested in learning more about Secession, visit their website at

As new tournament information becomes available, we will post it on the tournament website at

If you have not played Secession yet, or you are interested in learning more about it, visit the following video by Links Magazine:  Click Here.


The Devlin Tournament Committee
Bruce Devlin, Tournament Chairman
Kel Devlin
Kurt Devlin
Kris Devlin
Michael Wharton-Palmer